11th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I currently drive a 2005 Civic EX, but when my muffler started getting loud my mechanic told me my catalytic converter is bad too and replacing the whole exhaust system will cost $2000... so time for a new car. While shopping for a 2021 Civic Ex, the dealer told me my car was only worth $500 salvage, which I still holding out hope isn't true and will likely pursue a private sale instead. The tires alone are worth more that half that since they only have about 1000 miles on them.

The features I'm looking for in a new car are:
  • Heated Front Seats
  • Wireless Android Auto
  • Remote Start
  • ALL of the safety and sensing features including blind spot detection
  • Reliability, low total cost of ownership, long lasting
  • Large enough back seat to accommodate a child's seat (I'm having my first child soon)
I had been shopping for a 2021 Civic EX, but then learned that the 2022 would have wireless AA (which turned out to only be on the touring) and blind spot detection and would be arriving soon. Currently I'm mostly looking at the 2022 Civic Ex and the 2021 Elantra SEL w/ Convenience package because both of these vehicles hit MOST of my checkmarks.

2022 Civic Ex Pros:
  • Nicer looking interior and exterior (Not a high priority for me)
  • More powerful (Not a high priority for me)
Cons
  • Turbo (been told they don't last as long)
  • Need touring for wireless phone charger, wireless AA, crosstraffic, parking sensors, low speed breaking control
  • I'd like to buy sooner, but don't want to pay additional dealer markup
2021 Elantra SEL w/ Conv Pros:
  • 2.5k cheaper
  • Almost double the warranty
  • Neat hands-free smart trunk feature
  • Has the wireless charger, wirelessAA, crosstrafic, and low speed breaking that the Civic Ex lacks
Cons:
  • Ugly grill, cheap looking console